• Home
  • Rugby

Springbok Training Squad announced

Last updated: 28 May 2023
Marc Thomas 28 May 2023
Share this article
Or copy link
success image
  • 33-man squad announced by Jacques Nienaber
  • Squad excludes regulars Pollard, Kolbe and Wiese
  • Kolisi included despite injury
Training squad announcement (Getty Images)

On Saturday evening, post the United Rugby Championship final between the Stormers and Munster at the Cape Town Stadium, Jacques Nienaber and Rassie Erasmus released the names of the 33-man training squad.

All the players selected have been involved with the Springboks over the last two years with no new names. The notable omissions include winger, Cheslin Kolbe, flyhalf Handre Pollard and backrower, Jasper Wiese.

All three of the above-mentioned players have suffered recent injuries at their respective clubs. However, it is almost certain that they will all be available come the World Cup and even the Rugby Championship in six weeks.

South Africa captain, Siya Kolisi has been included despite injury. There is still concern around whether the inspirational captain will be fit for the World Cup later this year, but the coaching staff has confirmed that he will be given as much time as possible to recover.

Some players will face some pressure to perform at the camp given that only 33 players can go to the World Cup. With a few absentees almost certain, there are a few players in various positions on a fine line.

Springbok Training Squad

Props: Thomas du Toit (Sharks), Steven Kitshoff (Stormers), Frans Malherbe (Stormers), Ox Nche (Sharks).

Hookers: Joseph Dweba (Stormers), Malcom Marx (Spears), Bongi Mbonambi (Sharks).

Locks: Lood de Jager (Wild Knights), Eben Etzebeth ( Sharks), Marvin Orie (Stormers), RG Snyman (Munster).

Loose forwards: Pieter-Steph du Toit (Toyota Verblitz), Siya Kolisi (Sharks), Evan Roos (Stormers), Kwagga Smith (Shizuoka Blue Revs), Marco van Staden (Bulls), Duane Vermeulen (Ulster).

Utility Forwards: Deon Fourie (Stormers), Franco Mostert (Honda Heat).

Scrumhalves: Faf de Klerk (Canon Eagles), Jaden Hendrikse (Sharks), Herschel Jantjies (Stormers), Cobus Reinach (Montpellier), Grant Williams (Sharks).

Flyhalves: Manie Libbok (Stormers), Damian Willemse (Stormers).

Centres: Lukhanyo Am (Sharks), Damian de Allende (Wild Knights), Jesse Kriel (Canon Eagles).

Outside Backs: Kurt-Lee Arendse (Bulls), Willie le Roux (Toyota Verblitz), Makazole Mapimpi (Sharks), Canan Moodie (Bulls).

Top Betting Sites

special-offer-1Betting offers