Currie Cup 2024 Betting Tips

1375 Showlhs N

Currie Cup Tips

The Currie Cup is the premier domestic rugby union competition played in South Africa. The tournament is steeped in tradition and dates back to 1891 and it remains the cornerstone on which South African rugby was built.

Despite giving way to the more prestigious Super Rugby over the last 25 years the Currie Cup remains a popular tournament among South African supporters and is often used to blood young talent.

2024 Currie Cup Betting Odds

The Cheetahs are the favourites to win the 2024 Currie Cup shortly followed by the Bulls and Pumas.

2024 Currie Cup Fixtures

The 2024 Currie Cup kicks off on 5 July 2024. Here is our complete fixture guide.

Currie Cup Results

The Currie Cup games are generally played on Friday's, Saturday's and Sunday's. You can get the full set of results as they happen.

Currie Cup Teams

Eight teams compete in the Currie Cup Premier Division.

  • Western Province
  • Golden Lions
  • Blue Bulls
  • Free State Cheetahs
  • Griquas
  • Sharks
  • Pumas
  • Griffons

Currie Cup Free Bets

Claim Currie Cup free bets when you open a new bookmaker account or use Currie Cup free bets with your existing bookie if they are available.

Currie Cup History

As one of the oldest rugby competitions the Currie Cup’s first games were played in 1889 but it was only named the Currie Cup in 1892. In 1889, after the South African Rugby Board was founded it was decided to move away from being an inter-province competition to a national competition with representative teams from all the major unions.

Sir Donald Currie, who the tournament is named after, can be thanked for the Currie Cup coming into existence. Currie, who was from the British Isles shipped the first touring side to South Africa, and with them came a golf cup (trophy). The British team were given instructions to hand it over to the opposing team whom they felt were the most deserving – that ended up being Griqualand West, who lost 3-0.

The trophy was donated to the South African Rugby board and soon became a floating trophy. In 1892 Western Province became the first official holders of the trophy when they won the Currie Cup. They went on to dominate the early years and by 1920 had claimed the prestigious trophy on 10 occasions.

Thereafter a number of teams dominated in certain eras such as Transvaal and Northern Transvaal. The 1980s is still considered the golden years of the Currie Cup. South Africa entered into sporting isolation due to apartheid which meant all the best players played in the Currie Cup.

Stadiums were sold out on a weekly basis and it was soon considered the best local club competition in the world. Globally rugby was starting to take off although it was only to become professional in 1995. 

South Africa’s apartheid government was removed in 1994 but the release of Nelson Mandela in 1991 saw the country return to international sport. The Currie Cup however kept its shine throughout the 90s as World Cup winner Francois Pienaar’s Transvaal (Lions) dominated.

The emergence of Super Rugby in the mid to late 90s saw the Currie Cup dwindle a bit and it has never really regained the prominence it once had. Many top players who do not play for the national side ply their trade in Europe which means the Currie Cup has largely become a feeder competition.

It is still considered, especially among many supporters, as an important title and unions certainly treat it as such.

Currie Cup FAQ

What is the Currie Cup?

The Currie Cup is the premier franchise rugby competition in South Africa. Eight teams that represent various regions of the country compete every year for the much coveted gold trophy.

Where is the 2024 Currie Cup being played?

The entire Currie Cup is played in South Africa among the provinces that feature in the tournament.

Who won the 2023 Currie Cup tournament?

The Cheetahs won the 2023 Currie Cup and are once again favourited to defend their title in 2024.

How many teams participate in the Currie Cup tournament?

Eight teams participate in the Currie Cup on an annual basis.In 2024, the Griffons will feature in the Premier Division after securing promotion last year.

Rugby Union News