Mitre 10 Cup

Find the best Mitre 10 Cup Predictions, Betting Tips & odds on

2020 Mitre 10 Cup Betting Tips

The Mitre 10 Cup is the second-highest level of professional rugby in New Zealand behind the Super Rugby Tournament and had its inaugural season in 2006. It takes place after the culmination of the Super Rugby Tournament, usually between August and October each year.

The competition consists of two divisions of seven teams each from provincial unions across the country. They are divided into the Premier Division and the lower tier Championship Division. The winner of the Premier Division is crowned the Mitre 10 Cup Champions whilst the winner of the Championship Division is promoted to the Premier Division for the following season.

Latest Rugby Previews

2020 Mitre 10 Cup News

The competition has been delayed from August to September because of the COVID-19 lockdown in New Zealand.

You can keep up to date with official news on the official Mitre 10 website 

2020 Mitre 10 Cup Teams

14 teams will compete in the Mitre 10 Cup. They are split evenly between the Premier Division and the Championship Division.

Premier Division Teams:

  • Auckland
  • Bay of Plenty
  • North Harbour
  • Canterbury
  • Tasman
  • Waikato
  • Wellington

Championship Division Teams:

  • Counties Manukau
  • Hawke's Bay
  • Manawatu
  • Northland
  • Otago
  • Southland
  • Taranaki

2020 Mitre 10 Cup Fixtures

The 2020 Mitre 10 Cup is set to start in September 2020. An amended fixture list is due to be released as a result of the delayed start.

2020 Mitre 10 Cup Results

The Mitre 10 Cup results will be published as soon as the competition has begun.

2020 Mitre 10 Cup Betting Odds

There are no available odds as yet for the 2020 Mitre 10 Cup as the current COVID-19 pandemic has seen the competition delayed to September 11. We will keep you updated as soon as odds become available.

2020 Mitre 10 Cup Free Bets

Take advantage of free bets as many online bookmakers offer free bets when you open a new account online. Existing customers can also benefit as online bookmakers do offer specials on occasion so be sure to keep an eye out with your favourite online bookmaker

2020 Mitre 10 Cup Social Media

Keep up to date with the latest social media news on the official social media channels.

Mitre 10 Cup History

The Mitre 10 Cup was known as the Air New Zealand Cup when it first formed in 2006. Its origins trace back to a previous tournament called the National Provincial Championship which was founded in 1976.

In 2006, the National Provincial Championship was split into the Mitre 10 Cup and the Mitre Heartland Championship. The 14 strongest teams formed the Mitre 10 Cup whilst the remaining teams formed the Mitre Heartland Championship

The Mitre 10 Cup allowed for the strongest teams from across the country to compete against each other. The previous National Provincial Championship split the teams into distinct North and South geographical categories.

As a result of the expansion of the Super Rugby Tournament and the Rugby Championship, players who feature for the All Blacks have been required to have their appearances limited in the competition. This has allowed the competition to focus and develop and unearth promising local talent.

Mitre 10 Cup Previous Winners

The defending champions are Tasman as they defeated Wellington 31 – 14 in the 2019 Mitre 10 Cup.

Canterbury have been the most successful team in the competition’s history with nine Premiers Division titles.

Latest Rugby News

Mitre 10 Cup FAQ

What is the Mitre 10 Cup?

The Mitre 10 Cup is a professional men's rugby tournament played in New Zealand. It falls just below the level of Super Rugby. Clubs/franchises from around New Zealand compete on a home and away basis which eventually turns into knockout rugby at the semi final and final stage. It is the equivalent of the Currie Cup in South Africa.

Where is the Mitre 10 Cup played?

The Mitre 10 Cup is exclusively played in New Zealand.

When does the Mitre 10 Cup get played?

The Mitre 10 Cup 2020 is set to start in September 2020.

Who has won the most Mitre 10 Cup titles?

Canterbury have won the most Mitre 10 Cup titles with nine.