Latest United Rugby Championship News

1375 Showlhs N

United Rugby Championship Betting Tips

United Rugby Championship (previously known as the Pro14) is an annual men’s rugby union tournament played between 16 professional rugby teams from five nations – Italy, Wales, South Africa, Ireland and Scotland. It is also known as the Guinness United Rugby Championshipfor sponsorship reasons

The 2023/24 season will be the 23rd season of the competition and the third to be named the United Rugby Championship after four South African sides joined the tournament. The top four teams in the United Rugby Championship qualify for the European Champions Cup.

2024 United Rugby Championship Betting Odds

The betting odds for the 2024 United Rugby Championship season sees Leinster as favourites, followed by the Stormers and defending champions, Munster.

2024 United Rugby Championship Fixtures

Keeping up to date with fixtures is important for any bettor. Home and away form plays a key role in the United Rugby Championship so stay on top of the fixtures.

2024 United Rugby Championship Results

Knowing the results of both past and present is important. Teams often perform at home and at certain other stadiums. Players can also be rested for certain fixtures as clubs often prioritise the European Champions Cup if there is a fixture the following week.

United Rugby Championship Grand Final

The United Rugby Championship Grand Final is the pinnacle of the United Rugby Championship rugby season. Teams who qualify for the playoffs battle it out to reach the biggest stage of all.

United Rugby Championship Highlights

You can watch all the highlights of the United Rugby Championship on the United Rugby Championship YouTube Channel. There are other sites, especially sites relating to the various teams that showcase some highlights.

When is the United Rugby Championship?

The United Rugby Championship generally runs from late September to mid-June of the following year. The dates for the 2021/22 season are yet to be released.

United Rugby Championship Teams

There are 16 teams that participate in the United Rugby Championship tournament every year from Scotland, Ireland, South Africa, Italy and Wales.

BenettonItaly 19322010Treviso, ItalyStadio Comunale di Monigo
Cardiff BluesWales 18762003Cardiff, WalesCardiff Arms Park
StormersSouth Africa 20052021Cape Town, South AfricaCape Town Stadium
ConnachtIreland 18852001Galway, IrelandGalway Sportsgrounds
DragonsWales 20032003Newport, WalesRodney Parade
EdinburghScotland 18722001Edinburgh, ScotlandMurrayfield Stadium
Glasgow WarriorsScotland 18722001Glasgow, ScotlandScotstoun
LeinsterIreland 18792001Dublin, IrelandRDS/Aviva Stadium
MunsterIreland 18792001LimerickThomond Park/Irish Independent Park
OspreysWales 20032003Swansea, WalesLiberty Stadium
ScarletsWales 18752003Llanelli, WalesParc y Scarlets
SharksSouth Africa 20092021Durban, South AfricaKings Park
UlsterIreland 18792001Belfast, Northern IrelandRavenhill Stadium
ZebreItaly 19732012Parma, ItalyStadio Sergio Lanfranchi
BullsSouth Africa20112021Pretoria, South AfricaLoftus Versveld
LionsSouth Africa20112021Johannesburg, South AfricaEmirates Airline Park

United Rugby Championship Free Bets

Many online bookmakers will offer United Rugby Championship free bets and special offers including price boosts. Check for all the latest offers.

United Rugby Championship News

All the latest United Rugby Championship news is available on the official United Rugby Championship website.

United Rugby Championship Winners and Runners-Up

Leinster are the defending United Rugby Championship Champions and have won fiveof the last eight United Rugby Championship tournaments.

2018-19LeinsterGlasgow Warriors14
2014-15Glasgow WarriorsMunster12
2013-14LeinsterGlasgow Warriors12
2007-08LeinsterCardiff Blues10
2006-07OspreysCardiff Blues11
2003-04Llanelli ScarletsUlster12

United Rugby Championship Social Media

Follow the United Rugby Championship on all the social media platforms.

United Rugby Championship Facebook –
United Rugby Championship Twitter –
United Rugby Championship Instagram -

Pro14 History

The United Rugby Championship is one of the newer rugby union competitions having only really started in the 1999/2000 season. It was then that the two Scottish sides, Edinburgh and Glasgow joined the Welsh Premier Division. The four Irish clubs joined in 2001 after an agreement was reached.

It has previously been known as the Pro12 and Pro14.

The 2001/02 season it was named the Celtic League as it included teams from Ireland, Wales and Scotland. Two Italian teams joined at the start of the 2010/11 season (Benetton & Zebre) which led to an expansion from 10 to 12 teams.

The tournament then became the Pro12 in 2011 as it reflected the amount of clubs involved. Guinness became the tournament sponsor at the beginning of the 2014/15 season and has held the title sponsorship ever since.

After the Southern Kings and Free State Cheetahs were culled from the Super Rugby tournament as SANZAAR looked for fewer teams, the Pro12 welcomed the two South African sides. Expansion was always on the lips of the organisers but expanding into Europe was difficult with the lower caliber of rugby played.

It was then that the name changed to the Pro14 to once again reflect the amount of teams involved. The format also changed as the league was split into two groups of seven. Each team now plays the other teams in their group on a home and away basis. They also play each team in the opposing group but only on one occasion.

The top four sides from each group qualify for the quarter finals. The 2019/20 season of the United Rugby Championship was suspended due to COVID-19.

United Rugby Championship FAQ

What is the United Rugby Championship?

The Pro14 is a professional men's rugby tournament contested between 14 clubs from Ireland, Wales, Scotland, Italy and South Africa. It takes place on an annual basis.

Where is the 2021/22 United Rugby Championship being played?

All teams play home and away which includes South Africa, the only Southern Hemisphere country with a playing interest in the competition.

Who won the 2020/21 United Rugby Championship tournament?

Leinster won the 2020/21 edition of the United Rugby Championship.

How many teams participate in the United Rugby Championship tournament?

There are 16 teams that participate in the United Rugby Championship tournament.

Who has won the most United Rugby Championship titles?

Leinster have won the United Rugby Championship on seven occasions, two more than the Ospreys and three more times than arch-rivals Munster. Leinster have also finished as runner-up on five occasions.

Rugby Union Betting Tips