Rugby Championship Betting Tips

The Rugby Championship, formerly known as the Tri Nations, is a professional men’s rugby union tournament contested on an annual basis. The tournament is run by SANZAAR which consists of the boards of rugby from South Africa, New Zealand, Australia and Argentina – the four teams that compete in the tournament.

Latest Rugby Championship News

1375 Showlhs N

2024 Rugby Championship Betting Odds

The betting odds for the 2024 Rugby Championship are not available as yet.Odds will be released closer to the time but World Cup finalists, South Africa and New Zealand are almost certain to be favourites.

2024 Rugby Championship Fixtures

Knowing the Rugby Championship fixtures will be a key component to your bet. With the amount of traveling and time zones involved this could have a huge impact on the odds. Do your research and you will be able to pick up some great value.

2024 Rugby Championship Results

Staying up to date with the Rugby Championship results is important. Not just current results but look back a few years to see who performs well at home and away. New Zealand have dominated much of the Rugby Championship and are exceptionally hard to beat in New Zealand as an example.

Argentina have a tendency to cause an upset at home especially against South Africa while the Pumas have also won in Australia. 

Rugby Championship Highlights

A great way to stay in touch with the games if you happen to miss one is by watching the highlights. It could also give you a different perspective as to your next bet rather than relying solely on stats and history.

There are many places you can catch the highlights of Rugby Championship matches. The SANZAAR YouTube channel is a great place to catch all the games’ highlights while the official Rugby Championship website is another great source. 

Each country has various rugby specific sites which are often focused on that specific country. They have great alternatives in terms of highlights.

When is the Rugby Championship?

The Rugby Championship is generally played between July and August each year, although it has gone into September at times.

Rugby Championship Teams

The Rugby Championship is contested between four teams from the Southern Hemisphere. Often referred to by their nickname rather than the country name they are South Africa (Springboks), New Zealand (All Blacks), Australia (Wallabies) and Argentina (Pumas).

Rugby Championship Free Bets

Many online bookmakers will offer Rugby Championship free bets and special offers including price boosts. Check for all the latest offers.

Rugby Championship News

There is no shortage of news on the Rugby Championship. Staying up to date with all the news, interviews and injuries is extremely easy with numerous different websites you can visit.

The official Rugby Championship website is where you will find the most balanced views to keep you informed.

Rugby Championship Social Media

Another great way to stay up to date with the Rugby Championship is via social media.

Rugby Championship Twitter –
Rugby Championship Facebook –
Rugby Championship Instagram -

Rugby Championship History

The Rugby Championship, then known as the Tri Nations began in 1996 after the game became professional. This was shortly after South Africa’s 1995 Rugby World Cup triumph on home soil against New Zealand.

The Tri Nations was played among South Africa, New Zealand and Australia on an annual basis and each team played the other home and away. New Zealand dominated the 1996 tournament by winning all four of their matches. 

In 1997 it was again the All Blacks who came out on top but 1998 saw South Africa emerge victorious. 1999 saw New Zealand regain the title but the turn of the millennium saw Australia win their first Tri Nations title.

Australia defended their title in 2001 but it was the All Blacks that went back to back in 2002 and 2003. South Africa came out of a tough time to win in 2004 on point’s difference, the closest championship to date.

The Tri Nations was expanded in 2006 with each team now playing the other on three occasions. New Zealand remained the dominant and won the title in 2005, 2006, 2007 and 2008 with the Springboks bouncing back in 2009 to spoil the All Blacks party.

It was announced in 2009 that Argentina would be part of the Tri Nations from 2012 onwards and the name would be changed from Tri Nations to the Rugby Championship.

The format from 2012 was simple – each team played the other teams home and away. The problem came with traveling as some teams are more affected than others due to the time zones – a problem that persists today.

New Zealand have been completely dominant since the format change and won in 2012, 2013, 2014 before Australia managed a title in 2015. The All Blacks were back to their dominant best winning in 2016, 2017 and 2018. 

2019 saw South Africa claim their first Rugby Championship title and later in 2019 also won the Rugby World Cup. This was the first time ever that the team that won the Rugby Championship or Tri Nations in a World Cup year went on to win the World Cup.

Rugby Championship FAQ

Where is the 2020 Rugby Championship played?

The 2020 Rugby Championship will be played in New Zealand, Argentina, Australia and South Africa.

When is the 2020 Rugby Championship?

The 2020 Rugby Championship starts on 6 August and concludes on 26 September 2020. Dates are subject to change or be cancelled altogether due to CONVID-19.

What teams play in the 2020 Rugby Championship?

Four nations compete in the annual Rugby Championship tournament. Argentina, South Africa, Australia and New Zealand.

Who has won the most Rugby Championship titles?

Since it became the Rugby Championship in 2012 New Zealand have won it on six occasions, with South Africa and Australia winning one apiece.

Rugby Union Betting Tips