• Home
  • Cricket
  • Indian Premier League

CSK IPL Squad Preview - Super Kings seek third title in four years

Last updated: 19 Mar 2024
Simon Lewis 19 Mar 2024
Share this article
Or copy link
success image
  • The defending champs are going to be incredibly difficult to beat if they play anywhere near their potential.
  • They will look to improve on their eight wins in 14 games to oust the Titans from top spot on the table.
  • The IPL starts on 22 March, with the final scheduled for 26 May 2024.
Ruturaj Gaikwad
Ruturaj Gaikwad hits out against Australia. (credit: Punit Paranjpe / AFP via Getty Images)

Season preview  

One of the most successful teams in IPL history, last season the Kings won their fifth IPL title, after making it into the final for an incredible 10th time. They beat the Gujarat Titans in a rain-affected final. They have a super-strong squad as always, yet have still beefed it up with some excellent new signings.

New players

Batters Aravelly Avanish and Sameer Rizvi, Kiwi all-rounders Daryl Mitchell and Rachin Ravindra, and international medium-quick bowlers Shardul Thakur (India) and Mustafizur Rahman (Bangladesh).

Key players

After a superb season in 2023, Devon Conway (672 runs at 51.69) is unavailable due to injury, so they will be looking for big runs from Ruturaj Gaikwad, Rachin Ravindra and their big ticket all-rounders Moeen Ali, Ravindra Jadeja, Dwaine Pretorius, Ben Stokes and Mitchell Santner. Last season’s leading bowlers Tushar Deshpande (21 wickets) and Ravindra Jadeja (20) are ready and firing for 2024.


Coach: Stephen Fleming
Captain: MS Dhoni
Ajinkya Rahane
Ruturaj Gaikwad
Sameer Rizvi
Shaik Rasheed
Aravelly Avanish Rao
Moeen Ali
Ravindra Jadeja
Daryl Mitchell
Mitchell Santner
Shivam Dube
Ajay Mandal
Rachin Ravindra
Rajvardhan Hangargekar
Nishant Sindhu
Deepak Chahar
Shardul Thakur
Tushar Deshpande
Mustafizur Rahman
Mukesh Choudhary
Simarjeet Singh
Matheesha Pathirana
Prashant Solanki
Maheesh Theekshana

Top Betting Sites

special-offer-1Betting offers