The Ashes Betting Tips

The Ashes is a Test cricket series contested by England and Australia. The first Ashes series took place in 1882 and now takes place every 2 years, with the hosts alternating with every new edition. It’s considered to be the most important Test cricket series in the world, with both sides eager to get their hands on The Urn.

Latest Ashes News

1398 Showlhs N

Where is The Ashes 2021 being played?

The 2021 Ashes series will be played in Australia.

When is The Ashes 2021 being played?

The Ashes will start in November 2021 and run until January 2022.

Who won The Ashes in 2019?

The Ashes in England in 2019 was shared. Both England and Australia won 2 matches each, with one ending in a draw. This was the first shared Ashes series since 1972. Australia retained The Urn as they won the series in 2017.

The Ashes History

The Ashes series is said to have started in 1882 when a satirical obituary was published in Britain’s The Sporting Times. The obituary insisted that English cricket was now deceased, and "the body will be cremated and the ashes taken to Australia", after Australia's victory at The Oval in 1882. The next series in 1882 was dubbed “the quest to regain the Ashes” – and the name has stuck ever since. The Urn is the unofficial trophy handed over to the winning side after each The Ashes series – and is said to contain the ashes of the losing side.

There is little doubt that The Ashes is the most fiercely contested Test series in the game and remains one of the only series to still host 5 Test matches to decide a winner.

England dominated the early years of The Ashes, claiming The Urn 8 times before Australia claimed their first title in 1891. Australia had to wait 100 years for that same type of domination over England, with their scintillating side of the 1990s and early 2000s also winning 8 The Ashes titles in a row.

There have been 71 The Ashes series to date, with Australia winning 33, England 32, and 6 draws. If a series is drawn, the previous winner of the series retains The Urn.

The Ashes Teams

The Ashes is contested by the Test cricket teams of England and Australia.

The Ashes Results

The Ashes series is incredibly close, with Australia winning 33 and England 32 to date. Six Ashes series have been drawn.

Won by Australia
Won by England
All Ashes Tests33513610891
Ashes Tests in Australia167865625
Ashes Tests in England168505266
Ashes Series7133326
Ashes Series in Australia3519142
Ashes Series in England3614184

The Ashes 2021 Betting Odds

Who are you backing to claim The Urn in the The Ashes 2021? Check out the latest odds below.


The Ashes Free Bets

Use you’re The Ashes Free Bets when you sign up to a new bookmaker or take advantage of The Ashes Free Bets with your existing bookmaker if available.

The Ashes Bet of the Day

The Ashes tips will feature on our daily cricket Bet of the Day throughout the tournament.

The Ashes News

The official websites of England and Australia’s Test sides have all the latest news so you don't miss any important information. Interviews, stats, injury news, and more are all available to put you ahead of the bookies.

The Ashes Social Media

Follow The Ashes on all the major social media platforms:

Latest Cricket News

Load More

The Ashes FAQ

When is The Ashes 2021 being played?

The Ashes will start in November 2021 and run until January 2022.

Where is The Ashes 2021 being played?

Australia will host the 2021 Ashes.

Who won The Ashes in 2019?

The 2019 Ashes was retained by Australia after drawing the five match series 2-2 in England. This is because Australia were the Ashes holders from the previous tour so England needed an outright win to take the Urn.

Which teams compete in the Ashes cricket series?

Australia and England compete in the Ashes.

How many Test matches are played in The Ashes?

The Ashes series is a five Test series.