• Home
  • Cricket
  • T20 Cricket World Cup

Australian squad for 2024 T20 Cricket World Cup - Australia’s powerful squad will be hard to beat

Last updated: 22 May 2024
Simon Lewis 22 May 2024
Share this article
Or copy link
success image
  • IPL star Fraser-McGurk and legend Smith both sidelined as ‘specialists’.
  • Mitchell Marsh to skipper a side packed with players flexible for all situations.
  • The 2024 T20 World Cup will be staged from 1-29 June 2024.
Mitchell Marsh
Aussie skipper Mitchell Marsh hits over the top. (credit: Hagen Hopkins/Getty Images)

Squad strength

The selectors have gone for flexibility in their squad to ensure they have as many options as possible to cover the wide range of match situations they will encounter as the tournament progresses. Cameron Green, Ashton Agar and Nathan Ellis all won their places as part of this strategy. 

Key players

Mitchell Marsh and Pat Cummins epitomise the spirit of this squad: two players who can play a key role in winning a match with bat or ball, often against huge odds. Paceman Mitchell Starc is ageing but is still a class act, while Adam Zampa has the X-factor to turn a match in an over or two. Travis Head and Glenn Maxwell are brutal with the bat once they get a start and can be unstoppable – and both are also handy options to throw the ball to when the skipper needs to wrangle a wicket or two. 

Coach’s call

"Being constrained to a squad of 15 for World Cups is always a challenge given the different scenarios and options we'd like to cover. We will continue monitoring several players who have missed out on this preliminary squad and note that if we wish to change this squad, we have the option to do so over the coming weeks,” said George Bailey, the Aussie chairman of selectors at the announcement of the squad.

"Ultimately the balance of the final 15 needs to provide the best chance of being successful in this campaign. The batting options available allow a tailored approach to each venue and opponent.

"We believe Ashton can play a critical role in this tournament along with Marcus Stoinis, Glenn Maxwell, Cam Green and Mitch Marsh in complementing our front-line attack options." 


Mitchell Marsh (captain)
Ashton Agar
Pat Cummins
Tim David
Nathan Ellis
Cameron Green
Josh Hazlewood
Travis Head
Josh Inglis (w/k)
Glenn Maxwell
Mitchell Starc
Marcus Stoinis
Matthew Wade (w/k)
David Warner
Adam Zampa

Top Betting Sites

special-offer-1Betting offers

Upcoming Events

Load More