• Home
  • Rugby
  • Rugby Union World Cup
2023 RWC Odds

Rugby World Cup 2023 Betting Odds - Who will claim the big prize in 2023?

By Ralph Staniforth
Learn about our editorial policies
16 Feb 2021
  • The 2023 Rugby World Cup kicks off on 8 September
  • France will host the 2023 Rugby World Cup
  • South Africa are the defending Rugby World Cup champions
  • The World Cup will conclude with the final on 21 October 2023
Rugby World Cup
The 2023 Rugby World Cup is hosted by France and starts on 8 September 2023 (Getty Images)
Share this article
success image

The 2023 Rugby World Cup gets underway on 8 September 2023 and will conclude with the final on 21 October 2023. The tournament is being hosted by France in nine different cities. After hosting the 2007 World Cup, this is the second time France will host the sports’ showpiece event.

This will be the 10th edition of the Rugby World Cup after making its debut in 1987 and has been played every four years since.

New Zealand have been installed as early favourites at 3.00 to win the cup in 2023 with host nation France coming in at 4.33. The 2019 losing finalists are priced at 5.00 while the defending champions, South Africa are available at 6.00.

Two-time champions, Australia are available at 12.00 while perennial underachievers, Ireland comes in at 17.00. Wales, Argentina and Scotland are are priced at 19.00, 29.00 and 41.00 respectively with bookmaker Betway.

2023 Rugby World Cup Betting Odds

Defending champions, South Africa are fourth favourites to defend their title. New Zealand are favourites at 3.00 to win the cup. France are the dark horses.

New Zealand3.00
South Africa6.00
Odds from Betway and correct as of 16 February 2021

2023 Rugby World Cup Tips

New Zealand are the early front-runners to claim the big prize in 2023, the odds can be considered skewed at the current time (February 2021). The All Blacks were not at their best leading up to the 2019 event and then underperformed during the tournament as England knocked them out at the quarter final stage.

South Africa have yet to play since their 32-12 victory over England in the 2019 Rugby World Cup final. COVID-19 has ensured that the Springboks can’t compete but as rugby slowly returns to normality, their odds could change significantly during the 2021.

If you are looking for early value on the 2023 Rugby World Cup, France is the way to go. They have yet to win a World Cup but been the losing finalists on three occasions (1987, 1999 & 2011).

France are not only hosting the 2023 Rugby World Cup, they also have a squad full of quality and youth. At 4.33 they represent the best value at the moment.

England are another team to watch out for. They seem to have stagnated a bit under Eddie Jones but the English often produce their best rugby at the World Cup. 

England are the only Northern Hemisphere side to have ever won the World Cup (2003) while they have also been in the 1991, 2007 and 2019 finals.

Backing Ireland, Australia, Wales, Argentina or Scotland right now is risky considering form, but with two years to change that form, the risk may just pay off.

2023 Rugby World Cup Pools

The draw for the 2023 Rugby World Cup took place in 2020. There will once again be 20 participating teams placed in four pools of five each. Each plays the other in their pool once with the top two progressing to the knockout stages.

Pool A
Pool B
New ZealandSouth Africa
Americas 1 (Qualifier)Asia/Pacific 1 (Qualifier)
Africa 1 (Qualifier)Europe 2 (Qualifier)

Pool C
Pool D
Europe 1 (Qualifier)Oceania 1 (Qualifier)
Qualifier WinnerAmericas 2 (Qualifier)

Rugby World Cup Winners, Finalists & Score

New Zealand and South Africa have won the most Rugby World Cup titles with three each. Australia have won two while England have one title.

Final Score
1987New Zealand & AustraliaNew ZealandFrance29-9
1991England, France, Ireland, Scotland & WalesAustraliaEngland 12-6
1995South AfricaSouth AfricaNew Zealand15-12
2007FranceSouth AfricaEngland15-6
2011New ZealandNew ZealandFrance8-7
2015EnglandNew ZealandAustralia34-17
2019JapanSouth AfricaEngland32-12

2023 Rugby World Cup Stadiums

France will host the 2023 Rugby World Cup in nine stadiums across nine cities.

Stade de FranceParis
Stade VelodromeMarseille
Stade Pierre-MauroyLille
Matmut Geoffroy-GuichardSaint-Ettiene
Allianz RivieraNice
Stade de la BeaujoireNantes
Stadium MunicipalToulouse

2023 Rugby World Cup FAQ

When does the 2023 Rugby World Cup start?

The 2023 Rugby World Cup will start on 8 September 2023.

When is the 2023 Rugby World Cup final?

The 2023 Rugby World Cup final will take place on 21 October 2023.

Who has won the most Rugby World Cup titles?

New Zealand and South Africa have each won the Rugby World Cup on three occasions.

Who will host the 2023 Rugby World Cup?

The 2023 Rugby World Cup will be hosted by France.


Top Betting Sites

Betting offers