• Home
  • Cricket

SA20 Squad Preview - MI Cape Town

11 Jan 2024
Simon Lewis 11 Jan 2024
Share this article
Or copy link
success image
  • Kieron Pollard is a late replacement as captain in the absence of the injured Rashid Khan as MI Cape Town look for a big improvement in 2024.
  • MI Cape Town finished in last place, six points below Durban’s Super Giant.
  • The Betway SA20 takes place from 10 January to 10 February 2024.
Kieron Pollard
Kieron Pollard will captain MI Cape Town this season. (credit: Alex Davidson/Getty Images)

MI Cape Town big name signings

MI Cape Town have added flamboyant English strokemaker Tom Banton to their lineup, along with SA-born Chris Benjamin, who has been showing some promise on the County circuit. 

Experienced local left-arm spin all-rounder Thomas Kaber and right-arm quick Nealan van Heerden add some local punch, while rookie Connor Esterhuizen will hopefully get a chance to display his batting skills.

However, their BIG signing for 2024 is West Indian Kieron Pollard, who could take the SA20 by the throat with bat and ball. Pollard’s previous stint in South Africa with the Cape Cobras should offer excellent knowledge of local conditions as MI Cape Town look to turn the table upside down, having finished bottom in 2023! Pollard has joined as skipper in place of the injured Rashid Khan, who the Cape side hopes will be fit for the latter part of the season, while England paceman Jofra Archer has been replaced by Sri Lankan paceman Nuwan Thushara.

The franchise is expected to challenge for the title this year as it is incredibly strong on paper, with bowlers of the quality of Pollard, Sam Curran and Kagiso Rabada, along with batting firepower that includes Pollard, Rassie van der Dussen, Ryan Rickleton, Liam Livingstone, Dewald Brevis and Tom Banton.

MI Cape Town team list (as at 5 Jan 2024)

Kieron Pollard (captain)
Dewald Brevis
Rassie van der Dussen
Ryan Rickelton
Grant Roelofsen
Delano Potgieter
Liam Livingstone
Sam Curran
Tom Banton
Nuwan Thushara
Olly Stone
Kagiso Rabada
George Linde
Beuran Hendricks
Duan Jansen
Christopher Benjamin
Nealan van Heerden
Thomas Kaber
Connor Esterhuizen 

MI Cape Town Fixtures

11 Jan | (A) | Durban's Super Giants 
3 Jan | (A) | Joburg Super Kings 
16 Jan | (H) | Sunrisers Eastern Cape
19 Jan | (H) | Paarl Royals
21 Jan | (A) | Paarl Royals 
23 Jan | (H) | Durban's Super Giants 
27 Jan | (A) | Sunrisers Eastern Cape 
29 Jan | (H) | Joburg Super Kings 
1 Feb | (A) | Pretoria Capitals 
3 Feb | (H) | Pretoria Capitals 

Top Betting Sites

special-offer-1Betting offers