• Home
  • Cricket
  • SA20

SA20 Squad Preview - Paarl Royals

09 Jan 2024
Simon Lewis 09 Jan 2024
Share this article
Or copy link
success image
  • David Miller once again leads a power-packed Paarl Royals batting line-up.
  • The Royals finished 4th in the table in 2023 but lost in the semi-final.
  • The Betway SA20 takes place from 10 January to 10 February 2024.
David Miller
David Miller captains the Paarl Royals in 2024. (credit: Gareth Copley/Getty Images)

Paarl Royals big name signings

Jos Buttler finished top of the SA20 runs list in 2023, racking up 391 runs at 39.10, as the Royals slipped into the semi-finals on a tiny net run rate. For the 2024 season, they have signed two experienced internationals in wildcard Fabian Allen from the West Indies and Irish keeper/batter Lorcan Tucker. Neither are headline acts but are serious talents. 

Their other signings include SA-born County campaigner John Turner, along with two youngsters, Kwena Maphaka and rookie Lhuan-dre Pretorius, who will be featuring in the youth World Cup in SA, but both will hopefully get a taste of SA20 action.

The strength of the Royals are their big-hitting batting line-up, and with talents such as David Miller, Jos Buttler and Jason Roy, a trio of the biggest hitters in international cricket, backed by all-rounders Wihan Lubbe, Dane Vilas and Andile Phehlukwayo. Their bowling is strong, with international hit-men Lungi Ngidi and Tabraiz Shamsi likely to be their big strikers, backed by the tight Lubbe, Phehlukwayo, Allen and Bjorn Fortuin.

BREAKING NEWS: Dudgeon & Peter join Royals

AET Tuskers all-rounder Keith Dudgeon has been brought into the Paarl Royals squad, along with Nqaba Peter of the Lion. The pair will stand in for Kwena Maphaka and Lhuan-dre Pretorius, who will represent SA Under 19 side at the ICC Under 19 Men's World Cup, which South Africa is hosting.

"We are indeed delighted that Keith Dudgeon becomes the first player from AET Tuskers to be selected for the SA20," said Jason Sathiaseelan, CEO of KZN Inland Cricket. "This is well deserved, and we wish Keith everything of the best. His hard work and commitment has paid off and we have no doubt that he will return richer for the experience."

Paarl Royals team list (as at 5 Jan 2024)

David Miller (captain)
Jos Buttler
Jason Roy
Wihan Lubbe
Mitchell van Buuren
Dane Vilas
Andile Phehlukwayo
Lungi Ngidi
Obed McCoy
Tabraiz Shamsi
Fabian Allen
John Turner
Lorcan Tucker
Ferisco Adams
Evan Jones
Bjorn Fortuin
Codi Yusuf
Keith Dudgeon (replacing Kwena Maphaka - on U19 CWC duty)
Nqaba Peter (replacing Lhuan-dre Pretorius - on U19 CWC duty)

Paarl Royals fixtures

12 Jan | (H) | Pretoria Capitals
14 Jan | (A) | Pretoria Capitals 
17 Jan | (H) | Joburg Super Kings 
19 Jan | (A) | MI Cape Town 
21 Jan | (H) | MI Cape Town 
24 Jan | (A) | Joburg Super Kings 
26 Jan | (H) | Durban's Super Giants 
28 Jan | (A) | Durban's Super Giants 
2 Feb | (H) | Sunrisers Eastern Cape 
4 Feb | (A) | Sunrisers Eastern Cape

Top Betting Sites

special-offer-1Betting offers