• Home
  • Rugby
  • Super Rugby

Who has won the most Super Rugby Titles?

Last updated: 05 Jun 2024
Brad Newcomb 05 Jun 2024
Share this article
Or copy link
success image
  • A look at the history of the Super Rugby competition
  • Who has won the most Super Rugby titles?
  • Guide to the most successful teams in Super Rugby
super rugby
Crusaders have won the most Super Rugby Titles (Getty Images)

Super Rugby is the preeminent rugby tournament between Southern Hemisphere teams, competing annually and featuring many international rugby stars.  

The tournament was formed in 1996 as the Super 12, comprising teams from Australia, New Zealand, and South Africa.

The Super 14 emerged when two additional teams from Australia and South Africa joined the competition in 2006.

Super Rugby was born when an extra team was added to the tournament in 2011.

The Jaguares from Argentina and Sunwolves from Japan joined the competition five years later. However, two teams were axed in 2018, returning the tournament to 15 participating teams.

In September 2020, the South African rugby franchises decided to leave Super Rugby in favour of competing in the PRO14 league, which is now called the United Rugby Championship. Additionally, the Sunwolves left due to financial reasons.  

In 2022 the tournament was rebranded as the Super Rugby Pacific and consisted of teams from Australia, Fiji, New Zealand, Samoa and Tonga.

Legends of the game like Dan Carter, Richie McCaw, Bryan Habana, Victor Matfield, George Gregan, and George Smith all tasted success in winning the Super Rugby tournament with their respective franchises.

Here is the list of the most successful teams to have won the Super Rugby tournament.

1. Crusaders - 12 Titles

Crusaders Super Rugby champions

The Crusaders have been the powerhouse team in Super Rugby, winning the competition 12 times since its inception.

The New Zealand team dominated for ten years, winning in 1998, 1999, 2000, 2002, 2005, 2006, and 2008 before waiting nine years for the next period of success with titles from 2017 to 2019, 2022 and 2023.

=2. Blues and Bulls- 3 Titles each

Auckland blues super rugby champions

The Blues won the inaugural Super Rugby competition in 1996 and again in 1997, with their last victory in 2003.

The Bulls have been the only South African team to win the Super Rugby tournament, lifting the trophy in 2007, 2009, and 2010.  However, the Bulls are no longer in Super Rugby.

=3. Brumbies and Chiefs- 2 Titles each

Brumbies Super Rugby

The Brumbies lost three finals before becoming the first Australian side to secure a Super Rugby title in 2001, with their second coming in 2004.

The Chiefs won back-to-back titles in 2012 and 2013 to become the third team from New Zealand to win the competition.  

=4. Reds, Warratahs, Highlanders and Hurricanes- 1 Title each

The Reds made just one appearance in a Super Rugby final in 2011, emerging the winner in a close contest with the Crusaders.

The Warratahs lost two finals in 2005 and 2008 before landing their only victory in 2014.

The Hurricanes came up short in two finals in 2006 and 2015 before winning the tournament in 2016.

The Highlanders were losing finalists in 1999 and had to wait until 2015 before they secured their maiden Super Rugby trophy.

Some notable teams that have never won the Super Rugby competition include:

  • Sharks
  • Stormers
  • Lions

Most Super Rugby FAQs

Which team has won the most Super Rugby titles?

The Crusaders have won 12 titles in Super Rugby, with the Blues and Blues trailing by some distance with three victories apiece, and the Brumbies and Chiefs each tasting success twice.

Have any teams failed to win the Super Rugby competition?

Of the teams currently in Super Rugby, the Western Force, Melbourne Rebels, Fijian Drua, and Moana Pasifika have never won it.

Top Betting Sites

special-offer-1Betting offers

Upcoming Events

Load More