• Home
  • Rugby
  • Super Rugby

Super Rugby – New Zealand set for Super Rugby return

Super Rugby Aotearoa starts on June 13
sUPER RUGBY crusaders
New Zealand franchises will make a return to Super Rugby on 14 June 2020 (Getty Images)
New Zealand have entered stage two of their lockdown measures and rugby players can now start returning to the training pitch. There is a month before the Super Rugby Aotearoa begins which gives the players that time to get fit and ready.

Super Rugby was called off after seven rounds in mid-March 2020 due to COVID-19. It is almost certain that Super Rugby will not return to the competition in was this year as all three countries – Australia, South Africa and New Zealand – have spoken about creating their own local versions of the competition.

Super Rugby Aotearoa will feature all five New Zealand franchises in the Auckland Blues, Canterbury Crusaders, Otago Highlanders, Wellington Hurricanes and Waikato Chiefs. Over 10 rounds each team will play the other on a home and away basis with fixtures set to take place at 17:05 on Saturdays and 15:05 on Sundays.

New Zealand Rugby Union (NZR) Chief Executive Mark Robinson stated that he was delighted that top-quality rugby was returning. He further stated that rugby would always need to take its guidance from government and will need to mitigate the spread of the virus.

Players, coaches and everyone else involved with day to day rugby will undergo regular tests. Symptom and temperature checks for all will take place daily while very stringent measures will be in place with regards to cleaning and hygiene of the players.

Players will fly in and out for away games on the same day by charter flights while games will be played earlier than usual. Normally kick off in New Zealand takes place a bit later for TV audiences around the world but to allow for flights they will be a bit earlier.

Super Rugby FAQ

When will Super Rugby return after being suspended for COVID-19?

Super Rugby returns on 13 June 2020 and will have two games per weekend.

How many teams will play once Super Rugby returns?

The only teams playing will be the five New Zealand franchises. They will play each other home and away over 10 game weeks.

Will Super Rugby return to the old format this season?

There is little chance of that happening. Once the countries are able to open up to rugby they are likely to have localised tournaments like New Zealand - traveling across borders will likely only happen in 2021 again.

Top Betting Sites

special-offer-1Special offers

Bonus Bets
    Risk-Free 1st Bet

    Must use BETMGM bonus code NEWWORLD1. Place a wager of $25 or more and PlayMGM will match it up to $500 in free bets. 21+ only. T&Cs and wagering requirements apply.

    Claim Now
    Deposit Bonus
    $100 Bet Credits

    New customers only. 21+ T&Cs and wagering requirements apply. Sign up using the bonus code NEWBONUS, deposit £5 or more to your account and bet365 will match your qualifying deposit in Bet Credits when you place qualifying bets to the same value and they are settled. Min odds/bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. T&Cs, time limits & exclusions apply. Over 18s. Begameaware.org.

    Claim now
    Deposit Bonus

    Licensed and regulated by the New Jersey Division of Gaming Enforcement as an Internet gaming operator in accordance with the Casino Control Act N.J.S.A. 5:12-1 and its implementing regulations. Only customers 21 and over are permitted to play our games. If you or someone you know has a gambling problem, call 1-800-GAMBLER

    Claim Now
    up to $500

    New customers only. 21+ T&Cs and wagering requirements apply.

    Sign up
  • WORLD50

    New customers only. 21+ only. T&Cs and wagering requirements apply.

    Sign up
More bonus bets