• Home
  • Soccer
  • South African Premier Division

PSL Announces South African Individual Award Nominees - Sundowns Heavily Represented

Last updated: 24 May 2024
John Eastwood 24 May 2024
Share this article
Or copy link
success image
  • The Premier Soccer League announced their awards candidates on Friday
  • Two Sundowns players are up for Footballer of the Season
  • Awards Criteria Clarified
Two Sundowns stars are amongst a three-man shortlist for Footballer of the Season (Credit: PSL).

Sundowns Dominate Nominations

Considering their title-winning season and 29-match unbeaten streak in the league, Mamelodi Sundowns unsurprisingly dominate the award nominations. 
  • Sundowns Dominate Nominations
  • Nominees in Full
  • Awards Criteria Laid Out

Teboho Mokoena and Ronwen Williams are vying for the main award with Iqraam Rayners of Stellenbosch FC. Williams is also shortlisted for the Players’ Player of the Season gong. 

Rhulani Mokwena and Grant Kekana are up for the coach and defender of the season awards respectively. 

Nominees in Full

PSL Footballer of the Season:

Teboho Mokoena (Mamelodi Sundowns)
Iqraam Rayners (Stellenbosch FC)
Ronwen Williams (Mamelodi Sundowns)

DStv Premiership Player’s Player of the Season:

Patrick Maswanganyi (Orlando Pirates)
Iqraam Rayners (Stellenbosch FC)
Ronwen Williams (Mamelodi Sundowns)

DStv Premiership Coach of the Season:

Steve Barker (Stellenbosch FC)
Rulani Mokwena (Mamelodi Sundowns)
Jose Riveiro (Orlando Pirates)

DStv Premiership Goalkeeper of the Season:

Badra Sangare (Sekhukhune United)
Sage Stephens (Stellenbosch FC)
Ronwen Williams (Mamelodi Sundowns)

DStv Premiership Defender of the Season:

Grant Kekana (Mamelodi Sundowns)
Deano Van Rooyen (Stellenbosch FC)
Tapelo Xoki (Orlando Pirates)

DStv Premiership Midfielder of the Season:

Sanele Barns (Richards Bay)
Patrick Maswanganyi (Orlando Pirates)
Devin Titus (Stellenbosch FC)

DStv Premiership Young Player of the Season:

Shandre Campbell (SuperSport United)
Relebohile Mofokeng (Orlando Pirates)
Ime Okon (SuperSport United)

Awards Criteria Laid Out

The Footballer of the Season category is comprised of votes by the 16 coaches of the DSTV Premiership. They were not allowed to vote for a player of their own club.

The DStv Premiership Player’s Player of the Season is voted for by the players. Each club was allowed 30 voting sheets and could not nominate a teammate.

All other main player categories were decided by judging panels which were made up of journalists, pundits and commentators.

Top Betting Sites

special-offer-1Betting offers

Upcoming Events

Load More