• Home
  • Soccer
  • English Premier League

The English Premier announces Hall of Fame Candidates - 15 players shortlisted

Last updated: 02 Apr 2024
John Eastwood 02 Apr 2024
Share this article
Or copy link
success image
  • 22 players and managers are currently inducted into the EPL Hall of Fame
  • The English Premier League has announced 15 players vying to join the exclusive club
  • Former Arsenal and Chelsea left back Ashley Cole was inducted last week
ashley cole
Former Arsenal, Chelsea and England left back Ashley Cole is the most recent inductee into the Premier League Hall of Fame (Getty Images).

Ashley Cole Joins Famous List

On Monday the 25th of March, three-time league winner Ashley Cole joined 21 other legends in the Premier League Hall of Fame. 
  • Ashley Cole Joins Famous List
  • The Full List of 22 Hall of Fame Inductees
  • Who Could Join the EPL Hall of Fame in 2024?
  • What is the EPL Hall of Fame Criteria?

Cole lifted two titles with Arsenal – one of those as part of the ‘Invincibles’ Team in 2023-24 – and another championship was won with Chelsea in 2010. The fullback was named in the PFA Team of the Year on four occasions and won 107 caps for England. 

Cole said: "It's humbling and fulfilling to be rewarded at the end of your career," said the 2012 UEFA Champions League winner.

"I went through my career just trying to give my best. As a young kid, you never dream of any of this and you just do it for the love of the game of football.

"I played for some fantastic clubs with incredible fans. Winning trophies with my boyhood club Arsenal and with Chelsea are amazing memories that will always be with me.

"To join the Hall of Fame alongside the likes of Alan Shearer, Thierry Henry, Didier Drogba and Rio Ferdinand, I'm privileged to be in their company."

The Full List of 22 Hall of Fame Inductees

The Hall of Fame was launched in 2021. The first players to be added were David Beckham, Dennis Bergkamp, Eric Cantona, Thierry Henry, Steven Gerrard, Frank Lampard, Roy Keane and Alan Shearer.

A year later, Sergio Aguero, Didier Drogba, Vincent Kompany, Patrick Vieira, Wayne Rooney, Peter Schmeichel, Paul Scholes and Ian Wright were inducted.

In 2023, Sir Alex Ferguson and Arsene Wenger were inducted, as were Tony Adams, Petr Cech and Rio Ferdinand. Ashley Cole became the first inductee of 2024.

Who Could Join the EPL Hall of Fame in 2024?

There are 15 players shortlisted to join the exclusive list in 2024. Included are defenders Sol Campbell, John Terry, Nemanja Vidic and Gary Neville.

In the midfield ranks are Yaya Toure, David Silva, Cesc Fabregas and Michael Carrick. 

There is one goalkeeper in Edwin van der Sar. Six attackers complete the list in Eden Hazard, Andy Cole, Jermain Defoe, Les Ferdinand, Robbie Fowler and Michael Owen. 

What is the EPL Hall of Fame Criteria?

Premier League career statistics are used such as individual and team honours, and a player's total Premier League appearances, goals, assists and clean sheets kept. 

Players must have been retired by 1 January 2024 to be eligible. Each inductee will receive a personalised medallion and a £10,000 donation will be made by the Premier League to a charity of the player's choosing.

The results will be announced on Monday 22 April.

Top Betting Sites

special-offer-1Betting offers