• Home
  • Soccer
  • MTN 8

Who has won the most MTN8 Cups?

Last updated: 05 Jun 2024
Brad Newcomb 05 Jun 2024
Share this article
Or copy link
success image
  • A look at the history of the MTN8 Cup
  • Who has won the most MTN8 Cups?
  • Guide to the most successful clubs of the MTN8 Cup
kaizer chiefs
Kaizer Chiefs have won 15 titles (Getty Images)

Which team has won the most MTN8 Cups?

The MTN8 Cup provides stiff competition every year in South African football when the top eight finishing teams in the PSL in the previous season battle it out to see who is the best in the land.

The competition launched in 1972, with Kaizer Chiefs and Orlando Pirates being the two dominant winners of the cup.

The name of the competition has changed over the years from the BP Top 8 (1972–2002), SAA Supa 8 (2003–2007), and MTN8 (2008–present).

The quarter-final draw is predetermined, with the 1st-placed team playing against the 8th-placed team, the 2nd-placed team playing against the 7th-placed team, etc.

The two semi-finals are played home and away, with the away goals rule in play.

Below is the list of the most successful clubs to have lifted the top eight cup in South Africa.

1. Kaizer Chiefs - 15 Cups

kaizer chiefs
Kaizer Chiefs (Getty Images)

Kaizer Chiefs have the honour of being the most successful club in the MTN8 Cup competition, lifting the trophy on 15 occasions.

Amakhosi dominated the competition from their first triumph in 1974 to 1994, winning eleven times, with their other victories coming in 2001, 2006, 2008, and 2014. 

2. Orlando Pirates - 12 Cups

orlando pirates
Orlando Pirates (Getty Images)

Orlando Pirates have had to play second fiddle to Kaizer Chiefs in the MTN8 Cup, but they have made inroads in recent years to be only four victories adrift of their Soweto rivals.

The Buccaneers captured back-to-back cups in 1972 and 1973, with their other titles coming in 1978, 1983, 1993, 1996, 2000, 2010, 2011, 2020, 2022 and 2023. 

3. Mamelodi Sundowns - 4 Cups

Mamelodi Sundowns (Getty Images)

Mamelodi Sundowns may be the kings of the South African Premier Division, but their achievements in the MTN8 Cup pale in comparison to Kaizer Chiefs and Orlando Pirates.

The Brazilians have won four times in 1988, 1990, and 2007, including a 14-year wait for the last triumph in 2021.

=4. SuperSport United, Bidvest Wits and Moroka Swallows - 3 Cups each

SuperSport United (Getty Images)

SuperSport United's first victory in this competition came in 2004, with their next being in 2017,  a gap of 13 years, and their last being in 2019.

Moroka Swallows won their first title in 1975, collecting their second in 1979. The Birds then had to endure a barren spell of 32 years for their third victory in 2012. 

Bidvest Wits grabbed their first cup in 1984, their second in 1995 and their last MTN8 Cup in 2016. 

=7. Cape Town City, Golden Arrows, Ajax Cape Town, Jomo Cosmos and five other clubs - 1 Cup each

Cape Town City (Getty Images)

There have been nine other clubs that have lifted the MTN8 Cup once since its inception, including Witbank Black Aces(1980), Arcadia Shepherds(1986), Santos(2002), Jomo Cosmos(2003), Bloemfontein Celtic(2005), Golden Arrows(2009), Platinum Stars(2013), Ajax Cape Town(2015), and Cape Town City(2018).

Some well-known clubs that have yet to win the MTN8 Cup include:

  • AmaZulu
  • Royal AM
  • Stellenbosch FC


Which club has won the most MTN8 Cups?

Kaizer Chiefs have reigned supreme in this competition, with 15 MTN Cups, four ahead of arch-rivals Orlando Pirates, whilst Mamelodi Sundowns trail by some distance with only four cups to their name.

Have any established teams failed to win the MTN8 Cup?

Yes, sides like AmaZulu, Royal AM and Stellenbosch FC have yet to taste victory in the competition.

Top Betting Sites

special-offer-1Betting offers

Upcoming Events

Load More